play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of Riverview Cars Ltd

At Riverview Cars Ltd we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us... All of our reviews come from real people detailing their real experiences with us !

Write a review

Riverview Cars Ltd

Riverview Cars Ltd
5
4.9

Based on 319 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Excellent garage

    By Lorna F on 22 January 2020 | Purchase not verified

    Excellent garage would highly recommend the lady in charge was very helpful it was great to buy a car with no hassle and drive away the same day wouldn't hesitate to go back.

    Reply from Riverview Cars Ltd on 22/01/20

    We are pleased you had a good experience and will be thrilled to see you again.


  • 5

    Riverview Cars V2

    By Linda F on 07 November 2019 | Purchase not verified

    V2. They told us on buying the car(s) we had a PLATINUM warranty. When the warranty company rang and asked if we wanted to buy again for another year I advised my car was back in original place bought from and they told me I/we had GOLD not PLATINUM warranty. I asked Kirsty re this and she told me that both GOLD & PLATINUM warranties were exactly the same!!!!! Really...All in all I eventually got my car back at the end of October. Was told it was ECU??? Had been compromised by leaking hydraulics. OK. Then stood it was going to have semi automatic clutch fitted and sent to an electrics place in Sunderland they always used as so reliable. It ended up in an electrical garage in Pelaw. OK. They fitted 2nd hand ECU then next day found the leak after having it for over 2 weeks I think. Had to have a dealer part sent for which allegedly cost another £200 or so. Bill standing at around £900 or so. And all through this, my partner was getting the phone calls with updates, NOT myself, THE OWNER

    Reply from Riverview Cars Ltd on 07/11/19

    Thank you for the review Linda, you cake back to us for help after owning the car for 13 months . You had been quoted nearly £2000 to repair the car. We repaired for less than half of this. During the conversations we had, you admitted the car had been loosing fluid for a couple of months but your local garage could not find a leak, the same leak the auto electritian had found after replacing the faulty part. You accepted that had your garage found the leak there would of been no need for the subiquent repairs. We are extremely disappointed we have not assisted in a way that you find acceptable. Regarding the updates you mention, we called your husband with updates as you asked us to due to the fact you were at work and cannot take calls whilst we are open. We are pleased your back on the road, Regards


  • 5

    Pleasure to deal with

    By Ken P on 02 November 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Bought a car from River view Cars last week and found them a pleasure to deal with. Very helpful, great communication got a good car as well Thank you.

    Reply from Riverview Cars Ltd on 02/11/19

    We also found you a pleasure to deal with Ken, Thank you


  • 5

    Ten out of Ten.

    By Fred C on 10 October 2019 | Purchase not verified

    I bought a Citroen from Riverview, and several months later it developed a suspension fault. Riverview immediately booked the car in for repair, and when the day arrived it was fixed in double-quick time. No fuss, no hassle, full marks to Riverview.

    Reply from Riverview Cars Ltd on 11/10/19

    You are always here if you need anything else Fred


  • 5

    Highly recommended and great customer service!!

    By Malcolm C on 08 October 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Have, today, purchased my new car and am impressed with the knowledge and customer service. The warranty is amazing, the best I've ever come across. Great price, easy process. Highly recommended!! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!

    Reply from Riverview Cars Ltd on 08/10/19

    Thank you Malcom, we are delighted you are happy


  • 5

    car buying made easy

    By laurie S on 20 August 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Thank you Riverview Cars Ltd, everything was done from 1st phone call through to purchase with no hassle or stress, the best way to buy a car. Kirsty is a real diamond, nothing is to much trouble. Will be going back there for my next vehicle, no problem.

    Reply from Riverview Cars Ltd on 16/09/19

    Laurie, that is lovely, thanks


  • 5

    Citroen C4 Grand Picasso

    By Paul C on 30 July 2019 | Purchase not verified

    I purchased a vehicle from Riverview Cars 3 weeks ago and today had a problem with the battery ,contacted Kirsty and took car in and within 15 minutes new battery fitted no questions asked Great Customer service ,Kirsty is a very bubbly character which makes the the whole experience a pleasure Highly recommended

    Reply from Riverview Cars Ltd on 16/09/19

    Anytime Paul


  • 5

    Poor Service

    By Liz B on 12 July 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Went to view a Peugeot over a week age. The Ad on Autotrader stated it has 12 months MOT and a full service history, got up there and it turned out it had no MOT and not a full service history. On inspection of the car there was water in one of the front headlights. On checking with the DVlA it had advisories and we were informed that no car left their premises with advisories and it would be all sorted. We paid £100.00 deposit and left expecting them to carry out the work. On checking with the DVLA again the same advisories were still on there. I asked for the deposit back but as yet am still waiting for them to refund me. We were lied to and would not recommend buying anything from this company

    Reply from Riverview Cars Ltd on 19/07/19

    We are lost for words ar this review, the car in question, a ten year old Peugeot, had slight condensation in a fog light, the part was on order and had not arrived but was due to be replaced. The advisories on the MOT were, under tray fitted, wheel trims fitted and engine cover fitted, these are normal and do not require any action, they are just an observation which the MOT tester must make following the change in the MOT rules. As for the deposit, the refund was issues immediately but takes three working days to process. This review is very unfair and We have since sold the car to a very happy customer.


  • 5

    Five star service

    By Ernest T on 28 March 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Excellent customer service and after sales support


  • 5

    Professional and Honest Service.

    By Rob D on 19 March 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Excellent service; knowledgable, helpful, very accommodating. Got a very good deal on a 2010 Mondeo. A thoroughly honest and professional outfit. I would highly recommend.